THE APRIL BOOK LIST

april_book_list

Last summer I made a summer book list, but I decided to do it by month this time. So every month, I will pick at least 4 books that I want to read or have read this month. Why start this now? Because in Amsterdam, spring seems to have finally made it’s entrance. And for me, sunshine means putting away your laptop, tablet and phone (i mean, you can’t use them in the sun anyway) and saying hello to the wonderful world of books!

A HUNDRED SUMMERS by Beatriz Williams

This book was the first one I read when the sun started to make its appearance. That turned out to be a great choice, as it is the perfect summer read. It is not too heavy, but stil has a few of those ‘wow, what happend there?’ moments. The book is set in the 1930’s which gives it a nice historical background. I won’t go too much into detail about the plot, since I wouldn’t want to give anything away. If you are looking for an easy read, then you should definitely go for this one!

THE ROSIE PROJECT by Gramae Simsion

I have to say: I LOVED THIS BOOK! It is described as an hilarious feel-good novel and I have to agree with that. This book tells the story of an awkward genetics professor searching for love. He is a very lovable character for me, because I can relate to him in a certain way. I wouldn’t say I am as awkward as he is, but I believe that everyone can relate to this. I was so very sad when I finished this one, but luckily there is a sequel (yay!). It is called the Rosie Effect and I am planning on reading this for next months blogpost. So keep an eye out for that!

WHERE’D YOU GO BERNADETTE  by Maria Semple

So if you loved The Rosie Project, you will love this as well. It is as hilarious as TRP and quite quirky as well. I won’t give away the plot, but it is about a mother who doesn’t really fit in the normal life. One day she goes missing (hence the title), and this story leads up to that moment. That is all I am going to say about the story, but I do want to say that I also loved the cover art of this one. So if you loved TRP, you will love this too!

A GAME OF THRONES by George R.R. Martin

Now onto the ones I wanted to should have read this month. As many of you know, Game of Thrones has finally (!) started again, and I couldn’t be happier about that. My plan was to read the first two books in the year between the two seasons, but I seem to have failed. I have started the first book: A Game of Thrones, but it is quite hard to get through. Firstly because it has more than 700 pages, which even for me is quite a lot. Secondly, I already knew what was going to happen and I couldn’t bear  that very sad moment at the end of season one (I won’t spoil anything). But maybe I will pick it up after this season is done, because I can’t bear another year of waiting.

Leave a Reply

