The Post Summer Book List

booklist_postsummer

So this summer hasn’t been my best one book-wise. I have been living in Madrid for two months doing a Spanish course, so naturally eating tapas and drinking wine were my new priorities. However, I do have a few book tips to share, so let’s begin…

THE LUMINARIES by Eleanor Catton

This book has been on my list for quite a while, and I even started reading it several times. However, I never really got into it and kept putting it away. This summer, however, I finally felt like reading this and I really can’t complain. I imagine this book to be perfect for a film script, since it is such a vividly described story with lots of interesting characters. If the movie was ever made, I would for sure go see it. In short, the story is set in the late 1800s in New Zealand and evolves around of group of men who try to make their fortune in the goldfields.

BLAASMUZIEKPOP OF HOE DE WETENSCHAP NAAR DE BERGEN KWAM by Vea Kaiser

This one I couldn’t find in English, since it is originally a German book and I read the Dutch translation. However, if it is ever translated in English, I believe it would be a total hype. It kind of reminded me of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. The story is not to heavy and made me laugh plenty of times. It’s a quirky and fun book.

THE BOOK THIEF by Markus Zusak

Another one that has been on the list for quite a while now. Normally I don’t really like reading stories set in the WWII, but this one was different to me. I found it beautiful that death was the storyteller in this book and I can even say that it made me cry for time to time. That says a LOT if you would know me, because I never ever cry at movies or books. Anyway, I loved it and I think I am watching the movie next. On that note, be prepared for a few movie suggestions in the upcoming weeks as well!

THE GIRLS by Emma Cline

This last one is the one I am reading right now. I am a few pages in, so I don’t have that much to say yet. The one thing I know is that it’s about a girl winding up in a cult in the late 1960s. I’ve read quite a few good reviews about this book, so I was willing to give it a try. I’ll probably put it in next month’s book list.

Leave a Reply

